Viewing a single comment thread. View all comments

Alert-Potato t1_jdbdi2c wrote

Gluten isn't a carbohydrate, it's a protein. As a general rule the term gluten used by itself without mention of the source is referring specifically the gluten of wheat, rye, barley, or triticale which is the gluten that must be avoided by people with celiac disease, non-celiac gluten sensitivity, or anyone otherwise following a medically necessary gluten free diet. It wouldn't be overly difficult for researchers studying the effects of diet to devise a diet that swaps the gluten protein source for something else, without changing anything other aspect.