crazypyro23 t1_iye4lxe wrote

It's pretty standard in Utah. Almost all misdemeanors and most low level felonies get suspended jail time. You have to really piss somebody off to serve jail right off the bat.

Typical sentence for a misdemeanor (think DUI) in Utah is 180 days jail suspended to probation and low level felonies (think meth use) get 0-5 years jail suspended to probation. Once you get into the next tier of felony (think arson) the sentencing moves to 1-15 years prison, which is when you see fewer suspended sentences, although they do still happen.

Source: I work in the background check industry and used to specialize in Utah.